The Grass Isn’t Greener On The Other Side

Adenugba Blessing
1 min readMar 25, 2021

--

Photo by Bradley Brister on Unsplash

How do I know the grass is greener on the other side

When I do not know of its existence?

I can’t see beyond my reality

All I care for is my daily meal

To quench the hunger and thirst that often knocks me out.

All I care for is shelter over my head

To shield me from the scorch of the glistening sun

All I care for is to see my Mama smile

With her, I yearn for no greener other side.

The grass is greener when my Mama smiles

The grass is greener when my tummy is filled.

The grass is greener….not on the other side that I have no knowledge about.

I only know about now.

Here is greener. There is no other side

I am here; just living,

hoping that the greener stays long.

There is no other side

The grass isn’t greener on the other side!

--

--